Big Steps

This morning, I’m running off to Palo Alto for an ankle check-up, so I’ll a) be continuing the food addiction saga on another day (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, get started here) and b) posting an update about my ankle and the rehab process as soon as I have more info from the doc.

Before I hop in the car and brave California traffic, however, I just wanted to let you all know something.

It’s silly to be so excited about such a seemingly insignificant bit of “news,” however in the context of my life, it’s pretty enormous:

On Saturday, for the first time inΒ three years, I went to a restaurant with another person, without knowing the menu beforehand, without restricting any of my meals prior, and without succumbing to panic, anxiety, or even negative self-talk after I ate (or even the days after!). Do you have any idea how amazing that feels?

Freedom is a beautiful thing.

And with that thought, I’m off to the doctor’s office. See you all soon!

– K.

6 thoughts on “Big Steps

    • Thanks–and definitely don’t worry if you’re not there yet! It’s taken me a long, long time to get to this point–a long, long time and a lot of panic and strife. You just have to meet yourself where you’re at, every day, one day at a time πŸ™‚

      (It also helps when you make that first step with people you’re comfortable around or when other factors that might normally stress you out are low…)

      • I totally get that! Right now I am trying letting my husband cook for me a couple of times a week. I’d say I am able to relax and not worry about what he is putting in the food about 50% of the time. Room for improvement… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

