The Promised Land

It's time to take a risk, sweetheart; city skyline at night; quote

 

So, it’s not really nutrition or fitness related, but I thought I’d share the news, since it’s definitely more than a tiny baby step:

I’m going to Israel.

Why? Well, here’s the thing: I am Jewish by birth, the granddaughter or Holocaust survivors on one side, niece to an incredible rabbi on the other, a cultural Jew whose religious education stopped after Shabbat during pre-K at the JCC.

I still can’t say I’m a religious person, but I am working on reconnecting with my culture and my spirituality.

I’m also turning 26 next month.

What does that have to do with anything? One word: birthright.

If you are born Jewish and have not been to Israel, you’re actually entitled to a 10 day trip to Israel before the end of your 27th year. I’ve never been to Israel and my 27th year starts on Black Friday.*

I had never considered actually going on birthright, but something struck me this past summer. I want so badly to feel a connection to something, to learn about a piece of myself and my history. To maybe find something I didn’t know was lost.

So I filled out the application and put down the deposit…and now I’m going to Israel.

It won’t be until January, so I still have to make it through the musical and the holiday season, but my trip will be the light at the end of the holiday-season-in-retail tunnel.

I’m nervous–10 days with strangers, in a country on the other side of the world, where no one knows that I am fighting my one-day-at-a-time battle with ED, where there will be no excuses for squandering my time due to social anxiety.

At the same time, I’m really excited for the challenge and the experience.

Man, this is gonna be surreal.

– K.

 

*You can tell I work in retail, huh?

5 thoughts on “The Promised Land

  1. The mint tea is so full of sugar, but it’s amazing!! When I was there, I tried new things and experienced new tastes, smells and sounds. I was there at age 22 – just after recovering from the hardest patch of my ED….where I stopped caring about what I ate and got present to the wonder around me. One of my male Israeli friends said, “You know, you’re cute but you have a big ass!” I just started laughing…because for the first time in my life, I was comfortable in my own skin…and I knew that I was going to be okay.

Leave a Reply

