The Skinny Genes Brussels Sprouts Recipe

Farmers Market Brussels Sprouts

Farmers Market Brussels Sprouts

Apparently, I’m not the only one addicted to brussels sprouts.

According to my WordPress dashboard, those of you who listened to the podcast and harbor the same addiction were motivated to go searching the internet for a written form of my hastily spoken recipe for the world’s greatest (and easiest) roasted brussels sprouts.

Unfortunately, such a written form did not exist–until now! So here you go. Sorry it’s not much of a “recipe;” when it comes to cooking, I’m more of an “eyeball-it” kind of chef. (When I was a vegan cookie baker–long story–I preferred to be precise down to the 16th of a tsp though…)

Anyway.

My “recipe” is as follows:

Preheat your oven to 375. (You can get away with 350 if you prefer them less crispy on the outside.) Cover a sheet pan with aluminum foil (so you don’t have to wash it later! Seriously the best time-saving tip I have.)

Cloves of garlic on cutting board

As you can see, I love my garlic. (I actually added another clove after I took this picture.)

Chop as much garlic as you can stand. Cover the bottom of the baking sheet evenly with said garlic.

Too many brussels sprouts to fit on cutting board

Never too many brussels sprouts….

Grab as many brussels sprouts as you think will fit on your cutting board/in your pan. Cut them into 1/4 or 1/8 pieces, depending on how large they are. You want them to be close to similar in size so that they’ll cook evenly-ish! Add them to the garlic on the pan.

Broccoli, brussels sprouts, carrots, and cauliflower

I cooked my brussels sprouts with broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower, but they’re also great on their own!

Scatter a healthy sprinkling of rosemary over the brussels sprouts. Then cover in olive oil. (It’s usually several tablespoons. The amount of olive oil you use will depend on how many brussels sprouts you cut up, and also if you add other veggies, like I did.)

Roasted brussels sprouts, broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower

Perfect doneness.

Place in the oven. Cook for 15-25 minutes. I usually check it at the 15 minute mark, and if they’re not crispy enough yet, I re-check in 5-10 minutes.

So that’s it. It’s not exact, but I think that’s what I like about it. I can make as much or as little as I want–and I usually make a several servings’ worth, so that I can freeze the leftovers to take to work for the rest of the week.

Hope you enjoy–and I’ll be back soon with a post to follow up my intro to “Getting Healthy…Period!

Happy Sunday & stay hungry,

K. (aka @MissSkinnyGenes)

P.S. I’m curious: what other recipes are you “addicted” to? What kinds of foods would you like to learn how to cook? 

2 thoughts on “The Skinny Genes Brussels Sprouts Recipe

Leave a Reply

