Trigger HAPPY Thursday: Public Gratitude [VIDEO]

Happy Smiley Face

While my battle with ED began 13 years ago, my real journey began in May of 2011.

I’ve written before about my ankle injury/surgery/pain, so I won’t bore you unless you want to go and read about it, but the gist of it is that, on Monday, I was diagnosed with Stage I Complex Regional Pain Syndrome.* I could sit and cry about it, but I already did that, and I’m not going to anymore. The unexplained chronic pain, swelling, and other bad juju has led me to a better mental place, even though my physical place is sometimes hard to live in.

All of this to say that I’ve learned a lot about acceptance–and about the power of positive energy. I’ve learned that if you put positive energy–and gratitude for the positive parts of your life–out into the universe, the universe sends it back.

I’ve been tweeting my gratitude daily, and it has helped me shift the focus from my ankle to the amazing and beautiful people and events and opportunities in my life. I’m not always positive, I’m not always perfect, but I am always working on my gratitude.

So I’ve decided that it’s time to start a new chapter of the In My Skinny Genes blog: a weekly video called Trigger HAPPY Thursday, where we’ll talk about all of the positive ways to trigger happiness in our lives. Today’s trigger is public declarations of gratitude:

So what are you grateful for? How are you going to publicly declare your gratitude today? What else do you do to trigger HAPPY?

Stay Hungry,

@MissSkinnyGenes

(By the way–George, the “Civilized Caveman” whose amazing post on battling male bulimia was featured on the blog a while back, has a huge sale on his Caveman Feast Cookbook. If you’re A) Paleo and looking for some inspiration in the kitchen or B) NOT Paleo and looking for some inspiration in the kitchen, then you must must must check this ebook out. And if that’s not enough to tempt you, perhaps this is:

Bacon. And chocolate. Baconandchocolate.

Seriously. Check it out now!** Enjoy!)

*CRPS, formerly known as Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, or RSD, is a chronic, potentially degenerative pain syndrome that can occur for a number of reasons, all associated with some sort of trauma to the nerves (whether over time or all at once). You can tell CRPS from a number of symptoms, like the foot being “dusky” or a different temperature, and if things get really bad, deformed and sweaty. I’m only Stage I, which is, thank goodness, potentially reversible. I am so, so incredibly lucky. I’m not off the hook though, because it’s only reversible if, A) I break the pain cycle and B) work my ass off to increase range of motion. So I may have to start taking pain meds, which is exactly the last thing I want to do. Between my “paleo” eating and my aversion to Western medicine in general, the thought of flooding my body with an anti-seizure medication that may cause such wonderful side effects as adverse skin reactions and ataxia….well, I’m not happy about that. But I guess life is about making compromises and choices, and sometimes the best way isn’t the way you’d planned on traveling. So I don’t know. We’ll see where it goes. I’m going to heal–I’ve already decided. I don’t need pain to be a badge of honor–I want to enjoy my life to the fullest extent that I can, and I want my body to be as whole as it can be. I’ve beaten it up enough. Time to show it how grateful I am that it’s stuck with me through the worst.

2 thoughts on “Trigger HAPPY Thursday: Public Gratitude [VIDEO]

  1. I want to thank you so much for starting trigger HAPPY Thursdays! I’ve been pretty down lately…I’ve had a couple bad swim meets, and have been in a generally unhappy mood. Thinking about gratitude, though, and triggering happy, might just be my ticket to a happier place. I’m going to start posting things I’m grateful for on facebook, because I’ve realized that I do have SO MUCH to be thankful for in my life.
    Thank you so much!
    Jamie

    • So, I just realized how silly I am, because I meant to reply to your comment and then I let life get in my eyes. (Sorry…reference to a vintage Peanuts cartoon where Lucy drops the baseball because the sun gets in her eyes, the past gets in her eyes, etc. Probably not a good joke if I had to explain it, but I didn’t want you to think I was completely crazy! :D)

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the trigger HAPPY thursdays–I promise I’ll keep ’em coming, because there is nothing that makes me happier than knowing I can help spread a little joy.

      I hope that your thursday–and beyond–is wonderful 😀

      Kaila

Leave a Reply

