Trigger HAPPY Thursday: Build a Karass [VIDEO]

I want to tell you guys a little story:

While my battle with ED began 13 years ago, my real journey began in May of 2011.

I’ve written before about my ankle injury/surgery/pain, so I won’t bore you unless you want to go and read about it, but the gist of it is that, last Monday, I was diagnosed with Stage I Complex Regional Pain Syndrome. I could sit and cry about it, but I already did that, and I’m not going to anymore. The unexplained chronic pain, swelling, and other bad juju has led me to a better mental place, even though my physical place is sometimes hard to live in.

All of this to say that I’ve learned a lot about acceptance–and about the power of positive energy. I’ve learned that if you put positive energy–and gratitude for the positive parts of your life–out into the universe, the universe sends it back, often in the form of people.

My ankle injury and subsequent leave of absence from my job at the Fruit Stand led me to begin freelance writing. And that freelance writing led me to my amazing new job as a marketing copywriter. I still freelance from time to time, for everywhere from companies next door to my neighborhood Starbucks all the way to NYC.

And I was recently put in touch with a company doing a web copy project that was desperately in need of a copywriter who understands their audience. That would be me. I spoke with the project manager last night to discuss details, and as we were chatting, conversation turned to physical fitness…and chronic pain. It turns out, not only is the man a 30 year survivor of chronic pain, but he has a Masters in it. We ended up speaking for an extra hour, sharing our stories.

The universe knows what it’s doing, folks. Keep Triggering HAPPY.

Stay hungry,

@MissSkinnyGenes

PS After you watch the video, tell me: who is in your karass? How have those people affected your life?

“We Bokononists believe that humanity is organized into teams, teams that do God’s Will without ever discovering what they are doing. Such a team is called a karass by Bokonon . . . . ” – Kurt Vonnegut, Cat’s Cradle

Cat's Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

2 thoughts on “Trigger HAPPY Thursday: Build a Karass [VIDEO]

  1. Pingback: Herby Bell | Finding Our Hunger

  2. Pingback: UN-Podcast 023: UNiverse | In My Skinny Genes

Leave a Reply

