Jamie’s Story: UNdoing

So, today, I’m officially starting a new series of posts, dedicated to you brave men and women out in the blogosphere who have the strength to share your stories with me and with the world.

I can’t tell you how excited I am to share this first story with you–not only did this incredible young woman start to overcome her own inner demons, but she also brought them out into the light to help others who were struggling in the darkness too.

So go ahead and read her story–and then check out her interview on the Finding Our Hunger podcast!

public_speaking_microphone_auditorium

Jamie’s Story: UNdoing

My name is Jamie, and I am a senior in high school and will be attending college next year.  I am almost always busy; I run cross country, swim, and run track, play the trumpet, and write.  I do well in school, and am a relentless perfectionist.  For the longest time, I thought I could push myself to perfection without any consequences, however, two years ago I developed an eating disorder while trying to get in better shape for running and make weight for pole vault.  Since then, I’ve had my ups and downs, recoveries and relapses, but I’ve become stronger through it all.  I know I’ll continue to struggle with ED, but through my short journey I’ve learned that I have friends and family here to support me through it all.

Why I want to share my story:

Yesterday, I opened up for the first time about having an eating disorder.  We had an assembly at our school, for upperclassmen only, about acceptance and respect for yourself and others.  At the end, we each had a chance to stand up in front of the audience and say something, to apologize for something we did, or thank someone, or just adress our fellow students.  Not believing what I was doing, I stood up and said: “To anyone who has ever suffered from an eating disorder, just know that you are beautiful and strong, and you can make it through, because I know what you’re going through.”  After, a lot of my friends, especially those I know from cross country and swimming, came up to me and told me how brave it was of me to say what I did, and that they were dealing with their own weight and body image issues.  I guess I never realized how many people go through something like this, yet we never talk about it.  I thought I was alone, but I discovered that there are so many people, so many athletes, who truly understand.  I want to share my story so that no one who is dealing with any kind of disordered eating or body image issues feels alone like I did.  I want to share my story because I know now that when we stand together and support one another on our journeys to recovery, we are infinitely stronger than when we try to go it alone.

One thought on “Jamie’s Story: UNdoing

  1. Pingback: UN-Podcast 002: UNdoing | Finding Our Hunger

Leave a Reply

