UN-Podcast 016: UNnamed

Le Remorqueur du Champ de Mars

When I was a little girl, my mother and I played Cinderella. Every day.

Cinderella became a huge part of the story I told myself. She became my secret identity.

I realized something, talking to our podcast guest this week: I’ve spent a large part of my life planting glass slippers and waiting for some Prince Charming of Opportunity to show up.

Akshaya Shivkumar is the exact opposite of that girl. As a child, she sought out her own mythical Cinderella instead. Now, she looks for glass slippers and sets out to try them on others, not knowing who or what she’ll ultimately find. The journey is not in finding a foot that fits the shoe but in learning what she can from the feet that don’t.

I am so fortunate to have been able to work with Akshaya for these last 7 months. In just a few days, she’ll be on her way back to India, starting a whole new chapter in her storybook. I’ll miss her terribly–she has changed my life on level I don’t think she could have imagined when she first fished my resume out of the digital pile and sent that fateful email just 8 months ago, and I’m grateful to have been able to see her smile every day from the other side of our desks.

I hope you all enjoy this podcast, where Akshaya teaches us how to become the master of our own journeys–glass slippers not included.

finding-our-hunger-podcast

 Go listen now!

Stay hungry,

@MissSkinnyGenes

PS Have you left a review in iTunes yet? Why not?! Let us know what you think of the podcast!

Leave a Reply

