Fitness Friday: How to Exercise When You’re Injured: TRX Workout 1

Alright, Miss Skinny Genes (you say). I get it. I’m supposed to have acceptance and patience. I’m going to respect my body, treat it like a temple, let it rest, blah blah blah.

But I’m an active person pursuing healthy fitness goals. If I don’t work out soon, I’m going to go crazy!

So, I’m going to ask you one more time: how do I work out with a leg injury?

Ah, young grasshopper (I reply), never fear. A broken leg, bad knees, or chronic ankle pain may derail you a little (and keep you from doing PRs on your squats or marathons), but there is still hope for a little bit of gym time in your future.

If you gotta exercise, you gotta do it safely–which may mean scaling back and picking other body parts to exercise.

The question is: how do I do that?

For the next few Fitness Fridays, I’ve put together some videos on how to exercise when you’re injured so that you can get or stay strong while you’re healing.

Today’s video focuses on exercises you can do for your shoulders. We’ll be using a TRX suspension system, which you can hook up just about anywhere and have at it. (Most gyms have them these days if you can’t get your hands on one of your own).

After you watch the video, let me know: have you ever worked out with an injury? What was your workout and how did you stay safe? And have you ever used a TRX system before?

 Stay hungry,

@MissSkinnyGenes

How to exercise with a broken leg using a TRX

Workout 1: Shoulders:

2-3x Circuit

12x Y

12x T

12x I

12x W

12x L

 NOTE: PLEASE DO NOT BEGIN ANY SORT OF EXERCISE PROGRAM WITHOUT EXPLICIT CONSENT FROM YOUR HEALTHCARE PRACTITIONER!

Just because you think you can do it doesn’t mean you can or should! Risking further injury isn’t worth it–it’s only going to make the recovery time worse. 

  • Adjust the TRX straps to their shortest length
  •  Keep the injured leg forward and put all of your weight on the back leg. You should not be using the injured leg at all.
  • Tighten your core & keep your body as solid as a plank, keeping your neck and back neutral.
  • Keep the movements low and controlled. Your arms and shoulders–not momentum–should drive these movements.

PS Check out these articles from Abel James and Ben Bruno for more tips on how to exercise when you’re injured!

Leave a Reply

