Tune-Up Update Days 7-9

I have been remiss.

Well, actually, that’s not true. I haven’t exactly neglected the blog, I’ve just neglected to give you an update on the songs I’ve sung over the past several days of this One Month Tune-Up.

The reason? Well, this whole challenge was an attempt to lower my stress levels, and in between working a full time job, writing longer blog posts, recording, editing, and publishing a podcast, and attempting to do basic things like cook meals, go to the physical therapist/the gym, and answer emails (oh, and I suppose things like showering should be thrown in there too….), writing more can sometimes be a little stressful.

So, I’ve decided to give you a bulk update instead of worrying about publishing every single day. I hope you can forgive me–I know the account of which songs I’ve sung is truly the most thrilling part of your morning…haha!

Okay, so here goes:

andrew-lippa-wild--party

[source]

Song(s) sung: 

Sunday:

  • Continuing the showtunes thing, I went with the Young Frankenstein soundtrack. (Most of my 60 GB of showtunes are on an external hard drive, so the pickings are currently slim.

Monday:

  • Monday was an “Elizabeth and the Catapult” sort of day. If you haven’t heard of them, you should go and check them out ASAP. I discovered them as a result of a recommendation by @SaraBareilles on Twitter, so hopefully that gives you an idea of just how awesome they are:
  • Taller Children
  • Momma’s Boy
  • Julian, Darling

Tuesday:

  • More Young Frankenstein (again, not a lot to choose from…)
  • Gimme Gimme , Thoroughly Modern Millie (What? I was on a Sutton Foster kick!)

Wednesday:

  • I found my old iPod with Andrew Lippa’s The Wild Party still loaded up on it, so away I went with one of my favorite musical soundtracks of all time:
  • Queenie Was a Blond
  • Out of the Blue
  • Look at me Now

I’m assuming that the Wild Party kick is going to continue, although I just found Anything Goes, so there may be some more Sutton Foster in my future, depending on how much belting I need to get through the rest of this week with my sanity intact….

Mood/Pain/Comments: 

If last week was the longest week ever, then this week is a contender for the shortest. It seems to be flying by, which is stressful in a different way: too much to do and not enough time to accomplish it all! I’ve noticed that when I sing, I feel much less stressed–in fact, I take on the emotion of the song. So the more I focus on fun, up beat, belt-y, comedic, or otherwise positive numbers, then I’m set. In fact, just yelling out “Gimme a bottle of bourbon and half a chicken, and I’ll conquer the world!” while listening to The Wild Party last night was enough to make me feel just as invincible as the character who sings it.

I don’t know if the good feelings really extend much longer than the singing sessions though. I feel great while I’m donning the vocal characters on my iPhone or iPod, but once it’s back to the grind (and the never-ending barrage of emails and projects that I don’t have enough time to accomplish or classes that keep me up at night…), I immediately feel the same as before I began singing.

I think this is something I need to work on.

Anyway, thanks for allowing me to share my silly musings with you…I’ll give you some more musical food for thought once I have time to sit down and write a more food-for-thoughtful post for you!

Happy Thursday to all….

Stay hungry,

@MissSkinnyGenes

PS Have you listened to yesterday’s podcast with Anne-Sophie Reinhardt yet? If you haven’t, there’s no time like the present. Go listen now!

Leave a Reply

