UNPodcast 032: UNgraced

grace
[source]

Grace isn’t easy. Grace is practice and grace is earned. Grace can be lost in a matter of moments–but never forever. And grace can be regained through awareness, balance, and care.

I am not a graceful person. When I was three years old, I wanted to be a ballerina. One of my first memories is standing outside of my first dance recital in New York, wearing a purple tutu and a winter jacket and feeling like the most beautiful, accomplished, perfect little girl in the world. I remember getting out of my parents’ jeep and crunching through the snow with my tights under my winter clothes and never wanting to change.

I quit ballet.

I quit ballet more times than I can count.

But I kept going back, because I wanted to be a ballerina. Or to prove I could be a ballerina.

I was not a perfect ballerina. I was lumbering, awkward, and slow. I felt…heavier than other girls–whether trying again at age 6 at Carol Colbert’s Dance Studio in Boca Raton or at age 19 taking ballet for my PE credit in college.

I was not graceful because I could not allow for the fact that my body limited my ability to live this dream.

I didn’t realize, however, that true grace is not the fluid movement of the perfect ballerina, but the acceptance that perhaps I was built for a different dream. The acceptance that, when it comes to resistance training, my body adapts quickly and, when I’m not injured, I can quickly build strength.

So, okay, I won’t be on stage in a tutu or toe shoes, but the day when I can do 10 strict pull ups again without batting an eye isn’t far off.

Grace is recognizing that dreams are dreams. Grace is recognizing that dreams can lead us astray. Grace is recognizing that sometimes, our reality can actually be better than our dreams, if only we stop and find a little gratitude.

On today’s podcast, Ito and I got kinda deep into a conversation about what it means to give up your dream only to realize that you’ve been living it all along…I think this is one you won’t want to miss.

Go Listen Now!

finding-our-hunger-podcast

After you listen, come back and tell me–which dreams have led you astray & what are you grateful for in your present moment?

Stay hungry,

@MissSkinnyGenes

Leave a Reply

